My Sweet Marie

Spagetti Sauce Slimmed Down

Posted on: January 16, 2016

Being a weight watcher I end to find recipes or create recipes that are slimmed down versions of my favourite foods. Feel free to convert this to anyway you like your spaghetti but I like mine thick with veggies and a bit of meat too! I like to spiralize a few zucchini and have my sauce over zucchini which keeps the point value low and my carbs to a minimum! I hope you like my slimmed down version of spaghetti sauce!

Ingredients:

  • 1cup(s)fresh mushroom(s)
  • 1cup diced carrot(s)
  • 1cup diced uncooked onion(s)
  • 1 cup red pepper diced
  • 1 cup celery diced
  • 16oz uncooked ground turkey breast
  • 4 cup(s)no salt added diced tomatoes
  • 2 cups Italian tomato sauce
  • 1 tsp oregano and basil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Pepper flakes to taste

Directions:

  • Brown your ground turkey with the onions, peppers, celery and carrots. If there’s any fat, drain it off.
  • Add in your tomatoes and sauce and spices.
  • Simmer until bubbly and thickened.
  • Serve over zucchini noodles (spiralized) or shirataki noodles or spaghetti squash for low points.
  • 3 Smart points per cup of sauce.
2 Responses to "Spagetti Sauce Slimmed Down"

Oh a healthier version of spaghetti I must give it a try , thank you.
http://pinkiebag.com/

Let me know how you like it and feel free to spice it up as you like!!

Leave a Reply

