My Sweet Marie

Instant oatmeal

Posted on: July 8, 2015

I mentioned my oatmeal in jam jars in my previous post and somebody asked me what that is. Well, simply put, I make my own instant oatmeal, they are great for camping or for breakfast any day! The difference is mine is gluten-free, and has no preservatives in it! You prep them ahead of time then all you do is add hot water and ta-da, you have oatmeal! Here’s how:

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup oatmeal (I use gluten-free but any work)
  • 1 tsp maple sugar or brown if you like
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp. raisins
  • 1 tbsp. milk of choice

Directions:

  1. Place all of the ingredients in a jam jar (except the milk). Seal with a lid.
  2. To serve, add 1/2 cup of boiling water, re-seal the lid.
  3. Stir and add milk to cool a bit. Eat right out of the jar!
  4. 2 WW points if done as above.
  5. You can change it up by varying the spice or fruit. You could do cranberries, apricots, dried apples etc. Pumpkin spice would be nice or vanilla too.
  6. Enjoy with a side of fruit for a healthy wholesome breakfast.
Leave a Reply

