My Sweet Marie

Marinated Seafood Salad

Posted on: June 6, 2015

Tomorrow I will be having the kids for dinner, and I thought I’d do up a little something for an appetizer, what to have, what to have? After a bit of browsing, I found a seafood concoction by the Barefoot Contessa which inspired me. I didn’t use her recipe but it inspired me none-the-less! Here’s what I did:

Ingredients:

  • 1 kg of seafood ( I used calamari, shrimp, octopus and mussels, no shells)
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 lemons (zest and juice of 1 1/2 and slice the other half, very thing)
  • 2-3 cloves garlic crushed
  • red pepper flakes to taste
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley
  • 1 tomato diced finely
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Cook the seafood as directed on package. I used frozen seafood and steamed it. You could poach it in white wine for a lovely taste as well.
  2. Make your dressing with all the other ingredients except the sliced lemons.
  3. Add the cooked and cooled seafood to the dressing in a large bowl. Let sit overnight.
  4. Serve in chilled martini glasses or other fancy glass, garnished with a lemon slice or two and a basil or mint leaf. This should give you 6-8 appetizer servings@ 4 WW points each.
Leave a Reply

