My Sweet Marie

Spiralized Pad Thai Salad

Posted on: April 16, 2015

Have you gotten on the spiralized wagon yet? If not, hop on and hitch a ride with me! Oh what fun I am having with veggies, who knew? I love me some noodles but not only am I gluten-intolerant but I am over weight so noodles can only happen occasionally. Well, not anymore! I can have zucchini noodles any old time I want! How fun!

So if you’re reading this and wondering what the heck I am talking about, a spiralizer is a kitchen tool to make spiral noodle like vegetables. So you put your veggies in and turn the crank and voila, there they are! It is amazing. Google paderno spiralizer. There are many out there, hand held or counter top, I say go with what your budget will afford you. Here’s how I made my pad thai salad.

Ingredients:

  •  1 large zucchini, washed and ends trimmed
  • 1 large carrot, peeled
  • 1/2 red pepper, sliced very thin
  • 1/4 red onion, sliced thin or done in spiralizer
  • 1 cup bean sprouts
  • 6 oz chicken breast, if doing meat( cooked and sliced thin) or tofu or shrimp
  • 1 lime
  • 2 tbsp. peanuts

Thai  peanut dressing

  • 2 tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 1-2 tbsp. chunky peanut butter
  • 2 tablespoons gluten-free soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp. olive or canola oil
  • optional 1 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  •  1 teaspoon Asian hot sauce, such as Sriracha, or  ¼ teaspoon red chili flakes
  • 1 garlic clove, finely minced
  • 2 teaspoons finely minced ginger

Directions:

  1. Spiralize your zucchini and carrot. Place in a large salad bowl.
  2. Top with the pepper, onion, sprouts and chicken, tofu or shrimp or all three!
  3. Toss the salad gently, careful not to break all the noodles.
  4. For the dressing, blend all ingredients together and pour the dressing over the salad.
  5. Top with a squeeze of lime and garnish with the peanuts.
  6. Serve hot or cold. To warm, simply nuke for a minute or two per serving. Makes 2-3 large servings.

 

4 Responses to "Spiralized Pad Thai Salad"

This sounds really interesting.

Yummy for sure!

(-: I bet it is! Keep up the awesome blogging, and if you get bored why not check out my blog? I write short stories and character interviews.

Leave a Reply

