My Sweet Marie

5 Easy and Yummy ways to get your veggies in!

Posted on: April 8, 2015

Today at the WW meeting I felt inspired to do more to help my fellow WW peeps. I love to cook and I know this is a challenge for some people so maybe by me posting some recipes I can help you out! I love going to the meetings as they inspire me to do better. I love when people share their wisdom, their love and mostly their support as this is not an easy journey, but none the less, we have been thrown together on this train and well, somebody has to steer the darn thing! So here’s today’s post of my favourite 5 veggies!

  1. Steamed purple cabbage: Seriously, you chop up a red cabbage, throw it in a large pot, add water and vinegar. Boil the heck out of it until it is falling apart tender. This could take 1-2 hours. But once it’s done, you have enough for a few days and truly it is so tasty, just a bit of salt and pepper and you are ready to go!
  2. Green beans: Do you like spice? If so, steam your beans whichever method works for you, I like using a steamer but a micro will work too. Once they are cooked, toss them with a bit of Siracha(Rooster) sauce. Ta-da, that’s it, great with chicken, pork, steak, whatever!
  3. Roasted Veggies:  Take your favourite veggies like carrots, onions, cabbage, broccoli, cauliflower, celery, beets, rapini, kale, zucchini…I could go on! Wash them and chop them into large chunks, toss with very little olive oil(1 tbsp. for a large tray) and lay flat on a parchment covered tray, roast for 45 minutes at 375. Delicious.
  4. Sweet potato fries: Wash your taters and cut into wedges, dice or slim fries. Toss with 1 tbsp. of olive oil per 1-2 small to med. sweet potatoes and roast at 375 for 45 minutes to an hour depending on the cut. You will want them crispy. This is also great with rutabagas. I like to mix both together and surprise my hubby, get those veggies in! Don’t stack the taters as they’ll be mushy.
  5. Salsa veggies: Use the frozen veggie blend of beans/carrots, steam in the micro and top with some salsa and if you can/want go crazy and add 1/4 – 1/2 cup of shredded cheese. Be sure to count the cheese in your points! I like goat’s cheese on mine with a splash of balsamic vinegar…divine!

I hope these veggie ideas have helped you today and I will post more snack ideas up in the next few days! I love comments so please feel free to share your ideas and I’ll be sure to post them! Remember to count your points when adding olive oil!

Sweet Marie

Leave a Reply

