My Sweet Marie

Chicken, Chick Peas and Curry Stew

Posted on: January 21, 2015

It is -6 out today and I am in the mood for some good, warm comforting food. Here’s what’s on the go today. My co-worker Patty has inspired me to make this as she was eating it yesterday for lunch! She told me how she did it, and I plan to do that but you know me, I’ve got to add my little twists! Here’s what I did:

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs chicken (thighs, legs, breast)
  • 1 28oz can of chick peas drained and rinsed
  • 1 small onion chopped
  • 2-4 cloves garlic minced
  • 1 28 oz can tomatoes diced
  • 1 lt of chicken broth
  • 1 stalk celery diced
  • 1 carrot. chopped
  • 1 cup green beans, cut
  • 1 cup chopped kale or spinach
  • 1 sweet potato, diced
  • 1 cup mushrooms sliced
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 tbsp. indian spice rub/mix (look under my spice mixes for recipe)
  • hot sauce, as/if you like…a little or a lot!

Directions:

  1. In your stew pot, sautee the onion,garlic with the chicken till no longer pink on the outside.
  2. add in your other veggies and sautee a bit more.
  3. Add in the tomatoes, chick peas, broth and spices.
  4. Simmer on the stove till all the veggies are cooked, the chicken is falling off the bone and you just can’t take it any longer!
  5. Serve with cooked brown rice if you like. enjoy!!
  6. ** Can be made vegetarian, omit the chicken!
Leave a Reply

