My Sweet Marie

Chicken Cacciatore

Posted on: January 4, 2015

This is my way of cooking chicken cacciatore. Most Italians would tell you that you need to dip the chicken in flour and pan fry it but a) I am gluten-intolerant and b) I don’t need the added calories of the frying! So I have created my own version and it is delicious and since I don’t dine regularly in Italy, we don’t know the difference! Here’s how I do it in my kitchen, here in London, Ontario!

Ingredients:

  • 4-6 chicken breasts or other pieces
  • 1 onion sliced
  • 1 pepper sliced (green, red orange or yellow)
  • 1/2 lb mushrooms sliced
  • 2 cups homemade tomato sauce or canned if you must!
  • 1 cup chicken broth or white wine
  • 3 tbsp. capers
  • oregano, basil, salt, pepper and or chiles

Directions:

  1. In a large greased casserole, place your chicken. sprinkle it with your spices of choice.
  2. Layer over top the chicken, the onions, mushrooms and peppers.
  3. Mix the tomato sauce and chicken broth together, pour over the chicken and veggies.
  4. Sprinkle the capers over that.
  5. Bake in the oven at 350 for 1 1/2 hours or till the chicken is cooked and sauce is bubbling hot!
  6. Serve with a salad and pasta!
Leave a Reply

