My Sweet Marie

Cocada (Mexican Coconut Candy)

Posted on: December 7, 2014

On one of our trips to Playa Del Carmen we ventured to Valadolid. It’s a beautiful town with many things to explore. While exploring we happened upon this elderly lady in her Mexican dress, selling Cocada. It’s a very sweet candy, much like a hard fudge, with lots of coconut in it. Well, with my allergies I am very leery to eat anything from a street vendor but this fine lady assured me it was nothing but azucar and coco(sugar and coconut). So I decided to live on the edge and give it a whirl! Well let me just tell you that on days like that I am very glad that I choose to be a bit edgy!! It was phenomenal! It was sweet, chewy and addictive! We bought one and walked away and started nibbling, well we went back but she was gone! I have been wanting that candy since then and it’s been two years! Finally, with a bit of research, I think I have cracked the code! Here’s what I did:

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb brown sugar
  • 1 lb coconut shredded
  • 1 cup water

Directions:

  1. In a medium sized saucepan boil the water and brown sugar till soft ball stage. If you don’t have a candy thermometer, get a small glass of cold water and drop a teeny bit in, if it forms a soft ball then it’s ready for step 2!
  2. Now add the coconut, boil for 1 more minute.
  3. Pour out onto a flat tray that has been greased and/or use parchment.
  4. cool in the fridge till hard then cut as you like, squares etc.
  5. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

