My Sweet Marie

Mexican Spice Mix

Posted on: October 27, 2014

I love to make up my spices in little jars, that way on any given day I can whip up a dish and know that the spices are all ready to go! When making dinner or planning one, I open my spice cabinet and think to myself “hmm what do I fee like today?” I see my Mexican spice or any other of my blends and plan from there. I know, not exactly scientific or well planned but hey that’s how I roll! Here’s an easy blend for you to whip up,  and feel free to mix it up a bit (get the pun there?), add more heat or less heat, more garlic for more tang, more chipotle for smoke etc. It’s all in what you like! Use this blend to make tacos, fajitas, burritos, etc.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp. smoked paprika
  • 1 tbsp. cumin
  • 1 tbsp. sea salt
  • 1 tbsp. dried cilantro or coriander
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne (more if you want more heat)
  • 1/2 tsp chipotle powder (more if you want more smoke)

Blend all together and store in a jar with a tight fitting lid.  Use as a ‘taco seasoning in dips, tacos, fajitas etc.

Leave a Reply

