My Sweet Marie

Salmon Patties

Posted on: March 23, 2014

I have to be honest and tell you that as a kid I was not keen on salmon patties. these though are so good, I’ll bet even a kid would eat them! Call them chicken patties though! Kids will eat anything that is called chicken! I remember as a child arguing with my aunt that her pork chops were chicken, she of course straightened me right up! I am pretty sure I’d let my niece believe they were chicken if it meant she’d eat them! Whatever, anyhow these salmon patties are very good and can be made gluten-free or not! so go ahead, get that can out  salmon out of the cupboard and have a nice easy dinner!

Ingredients:

  • 1 can salmon, drained, juice reserved, bones removed too!
  • 1 small onion shredded
  • 3/4 cup of gf cracker/bread crumbs or gf oats or regular bread crumbs if you can have
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 c fresh parsley chopped
  • 1 tsp dry dill
  • 1 tsp dry mustard
  • oil for frying, I like olive oil but use what you like (canola, walnut oil, sunflower, coconut etc)

Directions:

  1. Drain the salmon, reserving 3/4 cup of the liquid. Flake the meat.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine the onions with the reserved salmon liquid, 1/4 c. of the cracker crumbs, eggs, parsley, mustard, dill and salmon. Mix until well blended, then shape into six patties. Coat/dip patties in remaining cracker crumbs.
  3. Pour oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Cook patties until browned, then carefully turn and brown on the other side.
  4. Serve with asparagus, kale salad and a nice pinot grigio! Enjoy!
  5. or have it however you like!
3 Responses to "Salmon Patties"

I love salmon patties. My mom’s recipe uses flour instead of crumbs — I usually use brown rice flour.

By the way, I’m planning a GF online progressive dinner for May 5. Yes that is Cinco de Mayo and the cuisine is Mexican. I still need someone for the entrée or salad. Please contact me if you are interested. You may use the contact form on my blog http://espirational.com/about/

sounds interesting, how do I help?

Use the contact form on my blog to send me your e-mail address and I will send you the details. http://espirational.com/contact-us/

Leave a Reply

