My Sweet Marie

Spring Mix Salad with Mango Lime dressing

Posted on: February 17, 2014

Winter has been far too long here in Ontario, Canada! I need some summer salads to make me feel good again! Today I whipped up a mango dressing that if I close my eyes, I can almost feel the sun shining down on me. I plan to serve this up with a nice juicy burger and a big helping of salad, if that’s not summer, what is? here’s what you need:

Ingredients:

  • spring mix
  • shredded carrot
  • shredded beets
  • 1/4 red onion sliced thinly
  • 1/4 cup toasted pine nuts
  • 2 tbsp. of seeds (sunflower or pepitas)
  • 1 cup raspberries
  • 2 oz goat’s cheese crumbled

For the dressing:

  • 1/4 cup lime juice
  • 1/4 cup rice or apple cider vinegar
  • 1 mango chopped
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 2-3 tbsp. chopped mint fresh
  • pinch salt and pepper to taste
  • honey if the mango is not ripe enough

Directions:

  1. In a blender, combine all the dressing ingredients till pureed and well combined. Refrigerate.
  2. Layer the salad with all the ingredients in an order you prefer. Cover and chill till time to serve.
  3. Toss with the dressing just before serving.
  4. Would be great on it’s own or with a nice juicy burger or chicken breast or even fish.
Leave a Reply

