My Sweet Marie

Playa Del Carmen Is Growing and Growing

Posted on: February 11, 2014

We visit Playa Del Carmen quite often and this year I have to say, was just a shock to us. The city has grown crazily! They now have a shopping mall downtown on 5th, there are condos going up everywhere and the streets were just plain busy. This has to be a banner year for Playa Del Carmen, at least I hope it is!

There are so many things to see in PDC, there’s the beach of course, there’s the ruins, the Xcaret, Xel-Ha, X-Plor, there’s turtle sanctuaries, aviaries, there’s swimming with the dolphins, not to mention para-gliding, and all water sports! The list of things to do is endless!

One of my favorite things to do though is to just walk the streets and find neat little shops. The owners are usually quite friendly and happy to answer my many questions. I know where my grand-kids get their curiosity, from me! I found one such shop while out for our evening walk, it’s called La Catrina!

You absolutely must stop in and meet Ari next time you are in Playa Del Carmen. You will find La Catrina on 14th Calle(st.) just off 5th Ave. Her little shop is filled with all kinds of neat art objects made by local artists. She has paintings, prints, tin work, just about any kind of art you can imagine.

Going into this shop is not just shopping, it’s an experience! Ari not only answered all my questions but offered me a shot of tequila as well! Only in Mexico can you shop and do shots of Tequila! I was in awe of how hard she works to make this shop happen, she has three children, a husband and yet she still manages to work in her shop! They keep her hopping, that is for sure.

You can find her on Facebook by searching for mayanotes2, go ahead and look it up and like her page please! Have a look at what she has there and you will be amazed! Great stuff!

Anyhow, Ari if you happen to read this, I wish you much success with your shop, and may all of your dreams come true! keep doing what you are doing, spread the love!

Sweetest regards,

Sweet Marie

Leave a Reply

