My Sweet Marie

Andrew’s Kapusta

Posted on: January 6, 2014

Recently we had our large family Christmas party. Luckily with our family, everyone brings a crock pot or roaster of something and you have loads of food! This year’s theme was comfort foods and Andrew, my god-son and a grown young man, brought a huge roaster of Kapusta. He asked me if that would be acceptable and I said “sure” not having a clue as to what expect. I knew if Andrew was making it, it would be good, tasty and healthy! I was right, it was so good that I have been thinking about it and finally today I have a roaster in the oven cooking! I consider this healthy as it’s all veggies, no fat, how bad can it be? I have to tell you that of all the foods that I could eat that night, it was a toss up between kapusta and the veggie cabbage rolls as to which was the best dish there! I hear the shepherd’s pie was pretty amazing too but I missed out on that one! Anyhow, here’s the easy directions!

Ingredients:

  • cabbage sliced
  • 1 jar of sauerkraut with juice/wine/vinegar
  • 1 can of sliced mushrooms with juice (2 if large cabbage)
  • 1  onion sliced

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350.
  2. Layer the cabbage, sauerkraut, onions and mushrooms in a large roaster, using the juices from the kraut and shrooms.
  3. Cover and roast for 2 hours or longer, it will be ready when the cabbage is completely soft and cooked through.
  4. Enjoy with a side of pork or chicken, ribs, beef, any meat at all!

 

Leave a Reply

