My Sweet Marie

Tourtieres

Posted on: December 22, 2013

Tis the season. Today Denis and I made our tourtieres once again for the holiday season. A few will be gifted and some will be frozen for future dinners! Enjoy the tourtieres with a side of veggies and salad and voila, dinner is served! Don’t forget to have lots of desserts on hand for afterwards too!

Merry Christmas all!

My Sweet Marie

Tourtieres are a big tradition in our home. We generally serve them up on Christmas eve and nibble on the leftovers all through the holidays! We make enough to eat all year-long too and to share with those who don’t make them! No, I am not taking orders, thank you very much! Running a little late this year but finally the tourtieres are done!

This year I had an extra challenge of making a few gluten-free tourtieres along with the regulars! I will post my recipe for Gluten-free pastry next! It definitely is more fragile than my regular pastry recipe, oh my! They are kind of sad-looking but they’ll taste good! My other pastry looks beautiful!

Tourtieres:

  • 10 lbs of ground meat (I do a mix of pork and beef)  can do veal,turkey etc.
  • 5 lbs of mashed potatoes
  • pastry for 10 tops and bottoms (shells)
  • 4-5 tbsp dry sage
  • 3 large onions…

View original post 159 more words

Leave a Reply

