My Sweet Marie

Meme’s Taffy

Posted on: December 16, 2013

This is a recipe that I make every year as my children and now grand-children expect it. it’s called Meme’s Taffy as that who I got the recipe from many years ago. Now my grand-kids call it that because they think I am so ingenious to make my own candy, no wonder they love me! Anyhow, I feel this recipe is worth repeating! Enjoy!!

My Sweet Marie

When I was a kid, I can remember visiting my grand-mother(Meme) and her having the taffy out for us all to enjoy! This is a recipe that has lasted several generations and still we pass it on! Wrap it in festive wrap and share with family and friends! Here’s the recipe, enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup corn syrup
  • 1 can condensed milk
  • 3 cups brown sugar
  • 1/2 lb butter (not margarine!)

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients over low heat until soft ball stage. I use a nice big pot and a thick one.
  2. Once you’re sure you’re at soft ball stage, pour all the taffy into a well-greased baking sheet with a lip.
  3. Let cool in fridge.
  4. Cut/break into squares and wrap in waxed paper or a colored cellophane!

Enjoy!

View original post

Leave a Reply

