My Sweet Marie

Turkey Cooking Time

Posted on: October 14, 2013

Happy thanksgiving to you all! Today is our Canadian Thanksgiving and people all over the country will be feasting on turkey, mashed potatoes, gravy, cranberries, stuffing and likely a squash or two! That will likely be followed by pumpkin pie or in my case pumpkin pie cake! I hope you snagged an invite to at least one of these dinners!

On Friday I was talking with a young woman who had never cooked a turkey and this weekend was to be her first! She is only 23 after all so I’m sure Mom or Gramma has done the turkey till now! She asked me if I had any tips to not make it dry? This is the question of the day isn’t it? here’s a couple of tips I shared with her:

  • keep it moist by basting it every 30 minutes or so
  • I use gluten-free chicken broth or white wine to baste mine. Some people use butter but I find that too oily and fattening!
  • Do not overcook it! For a 10lb turkey, it should be just less then 4 hours. The biggest mistake people make is overcooking!
  • Stuff an onion in both ends of the turkey and some chopped garlic under it’s skin, that’s right, get under his skin!
  • In the last 30 minutes, remove the lid to get it nice and brown.
  • I season my turkey with paprika, salt and pepper and the garlic under the skin, that’s it!
  • when the drumsticks easily pull away from the body, it’s ready! Eat it  now, don’t leave it in the oven waiting for the late comers or it will dry out! If they’re late, they can have it dry!

Enjoy your turkey, remember to go around the table and take turns saying what you are thankful this year. I for one am truly thankful for my family, my husband, my children, my precious grand-children, my siblings and their families, my Mother, my in-laws and all of my dear friends! These are the people that keep my world going and are always there for me in times of need!

Happy Thanksgiving people, hope it’s been a good one for you too!

Sweet Marie

Leave a Reply

