My Sweet Marie

Beer Bread

Posted on: July 8, 2013

I made this recipe last week but was short of time to post! You see I was on a camping trip and being gluten and dairy intolerant, I had to do a bit of prep before going! A great time was had by all and we certainly did not starve! This bread is very tasty and even my gluten-loving husband loved this loaf!! I had to stop him a few times from eating it all! My grand-daughter Holly who also is gluten/dairy intolerant absolutely loved it! I topped my bread with sunflower seeds and she said that was her favourite part, the crusts! Go figure! So here’s how you do it! Be sure to have your ingredients at room temp, this really helps!

Ingredients:

  • 3 large eggs at room temp ( or 3 tbsp. arrowroot mixed with 6 tbsp. warm water)
  • 3 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tbsp. agave or honey
  • 2 3/4 cups of gluten-free high fiber flour blend
  • 2 1/2 tsp xantham gum
  • 1/4 cup dry milk powder or almond meal
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp. cane sugar ( I used maple sugar here)
  • 1 bottle 10 oz gluten-free beer or ginger ale
  • 2 1/4 tsp yeast
  • milk of choice to brush top of loaf
  • seeds for topping (sesame, sunflower, pepitas, flax, poppy)

Directions:

  1. Grease a standard 9 x5 loaf pan.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together eggs, oil, apple cider vinegar and honey. * I did this right in my food processor.
  3. In another bowl, whisk the flour, xantham, almonds or milk powder, salt and sugar.
  4. With mixer on low speed, slowly pour  the dry ingredients into the wet to combine, (I used my food processor for this with my dough blade, I don’t have a mixer!)Continue beating on low while pouring in the beer or ginger ale.
  5. When incorporated add in the yeast.
  6. Beat batter until smooth. Increase the speed to high and beat for 4 minutes. Mixture will be rather thin and wet, not thick and doughy like glutinous bread dough.
  7. Pour batter into greased pan filling halfway up. Brush top with milk to help it brown. Top with your choice of seeds.
  8. Cover pan with an oiled piece of waxed paper and let rise in a warm moist place for 30 minutes to an hour. *You can preheat your oven to 200, then turn it off, then with a bowl of water in the oven you have the perfect rising place!
  9. Preheat oven to 375, be sure the loaf is out of oven!
  10. Bake in preheated oven for 35-45 minutes or until you have a nice golden brown crust!
  11. Let loaf cool 10-15 minutes in pan and then have yourself a slice before anyone else gets any!!
Leave a Reply

