My Sweet Marie

The Perfect Picnic

Posted on: June 3, 2013

There’s nobody who loves a picnic more than me…I don’t think! I love to pack it and I love to attend them! One time I packed a picnic for a friend that just had a baby. I called her and said don’t make dinner, I am bringing it over. I told her hubby to call me when the baby was settled and to lay a blanket on the living room floor! I packed them a beautiful dinner of salad, peach poached chicken, green beans almondine, rice and I know I packed an appetizer and  dessert but cannot remember what they were. She said that they had food for two days and I was glad for it! How nice not to worry about food when you have a new baby in the house!

Now back to picnics, I mean the pack a basket of food and head to the nearest park or beach for a day of peace and quiet and some yummy nibbles. I love to sneak away with my sweetie and go for a drive with the basket in the back and I let him pick the destination! I know he’ll pick the perfect spot every time!

So here are a few ideas if you’ve never packed a picnic before:

  1. Salad : Either choose a pasta, potato, rice or bean salad, they go with most foods and I have recipes for many of them in my salad recipes!
  2. Mason Jar salad: Take a clean mason jar per person( small one), put a vinaigrette in the bottom, top with greens and then your favorite toppings like cukes, tomatoes, shredded carrots or beets, green, yellow or red peppers, chick peas, sunflower or pumpkin seeds and top with goat’s cheese or your fave cheese! Put a lid on it and go!
  3. Meats: Choose cold meats like ham, shrimp, turkey or kielbasa.
  4. Hot meats: Make chicken wings and wrap them in foil and then a dish towel to keep them warm. Or pick up a deli chicken at the local deli counter.
  5. Sandwiches or Baguette: Either pre-make sandwiches or pack a baguette and just rip off pieces and dip in your dips!
  6. Dips: Guacamole, hummus, tapenade, salsa, antipasto, bruschetta with appropriate dip-ables like nachos or crackers.
  7. Cheese- I am allergic to most cheeses but most people like Cheddar, Swiss, gouda…you get the idea. have them cut and ready to eat!
  8. Fruit – cherries, melons, peaches, berries, apples…whatever you love!
  9. Pickles- I love me a good sour garlicky dill but sweet pickles are good too! Olives, or pickled asparagus are great options too!
  10. Nuts and Seeds – I love to nibble so any nut or seed will do for me!
  11. Snacks – I’m good with nuts but some people like chips or Fritos, you do what works for you!
  12. I like to pack either Dijon or mayo, butter or cream cheese, any will do with the meat of choice or breads!
  13. A little sweet- cookie, cake, crumble in a jar, chocolate…you decide!
  14. Plates, napkins and cutlery! You’ll need them, don’t forget them!
  15. Water and wine! I like a nice chilled white for a picnic but in a pinch I’d drink red or rose too!

So those are some ideas, certainly you don’t need all of those things for 2 people but you get some good ideas to pick and choose from. Personally, I love to just feed people so to pack a picnic for my loved ones is a joy! I hope you’ll share a picnic with someone you love real soon too!

Sweetest regards,

Sweet Marie

3 Responses to "The Perfect Picnic"

I’m going to print this one out Anne-Marie. Then I’m going to tape it to the inside of one of the cupboard doors to inspire me to put together our own picnics this summer. Terrific suggestions! Thanks!

Glad you like it. I love picnics, even the last minute ones. They are romantic, fun and oh so tasty!!

Reblogged this on My Sweet Marie and commented:

It’s picnic season folks, pick a few things off my list, grab your sweetie and head for a beach, the hills, or a park!

Leave a Reply

