My Sweet Marie

Count Your Blessings…

Posted on: January 6, 2013

Do you ever stop to wonder how lucky or blessed you are? I have to admit, I am pretty good at this especially when a not-so-fun event happens! I threw my back out on Thursday and it forced me to be flat-out for the last few days which gave me a lot of thinking time! It’s that or stare at the ceiling and frankly that’s not so cool!

I was to go visit my ailing step-father in the hospital on Saturday but still being unable to travel my siblings kicked in gear and took over. I have to say that I have the best siblings on the planet. I have four brothers and three sisters and most live close to Mom, and have been wonderful to her ! We have this long e-mail chain of “Fred Updates” that has been circulating since he went in the hospital a few weeks ago. Thank you God for technology, it saves many phone calls, or phone tags! The updates will include how Fred is feeling, or what Mom may need or what we need to do next, truly I am very proud of my siblings and how they are all pulling together for our Mom. A sure sign of deep devotion to her.

I wasn’t able to go visit Fred as I threw my back out on Thursday, and travel was impossible. I fly in four days to Australia so I am in deep doo-doo if I don’t get this back to where it needs to be and fast! Today I am able to walk and sit for bits and snips so that is improvement, but is it enough? Time will tell, prayers would be appreciated!

On the Fred situation, he is not well and will not return home. He is suffering from congestive heart failure and his organs are slowing failing him. I am sorry to report that he will likely be placed in a nursing home. I know that nursing homes can be wonderful places but for Fred, that will be a challenge. I thank you in advance for your prayers as they are well appreciated.

So, count your blessings, be grateful for who you have in your life, what you have and where you are. We are all where we are supposed to be and lessons are there for us on a daily basis! What are you grateful for today?

Gratefully yours,

Sweet Marie

2 Responses to "Count Your Blessings…"

I hope your back does getter better Anne-Marie, or else you trip to Australia is not going to be fun. Take care of yourself my friend and I am sending prayers for both you and Fred.

Thanks for the prayers, much appreciated. It will get better…I am giving it no choice!

Leave a Reply

