My Sweet Marie

Turkey Veggie And Rice soup

Posted on: January 2, 2013

I don’t know about you but I have a fridge full of leftovers! I don’t have hungry teenagers anymore to clean me out! so, having one more day off, I decided to throw a pot of soup on. Here’s how I did it:

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion diced
  • 1-2 stalks of celery diced
  • 1-2 carrots diced
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 4 cups of leftover turkey chopped
  • 8 cups of chicken broth
  • 8-10 cups of water
  • 4 cups of veggies (any that you like, I used broccoli, cauli, beans)
  • 1 can black beans
  • salt,pepper,thyme

Directions:

  1. Sautee the onion,celery and carrot in the olive oil till translucent.
  2. add in the turkey then the broth and water.
  3. bring to a boil and simmer for 30-45 minutes. Add in the veggies, boil up again till veggies are tender.
  4. Add in the black beans or white kidney beans. simmer again for a bit.
  5. Add your spices to your taste, I like heaping teaspoons of spices, less salt and I like a little dab of hot sauce just for a bit of a kick! You do what you’d like!
  6. when the soup is just right in flavour, just off the heat, stir in the rice, put a lid on it and let sit on the stove for half an hour!
  7. Enjoy with a salad, on its own or with a big crusty bun!
  • 1/2 cup rice

Leave a comment