My Sweet Marie

Toad in a Hole

Posted on: October 30, 2012

For my readers who come here for healthy recipes, now would be the time to look away! Just don’t do this one!! My boss, Patricia is english and I swear to you, if it doesn’t come with butter, she lays it on thick! This recipe is a traditional English tea serving. She tells me that when she was younger, the kids would have this for their ‘tea’ and then the parents would have proper dinner later when the kids have gone off to bed! She had me make it for her on Monday but it didn’t turn out quite the way she hoped! I went by her recipe off the top of her head but I think perhaps I messed up somewhere! Toad in the hole is simply yorkshire pudding baked over sausages till brown and fluffy! Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 pkg of sausages, either breakfast or large links
  • 1-2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1+ 3/4 cups flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup water

Directions:

  1. Grease your 9×13 casserole. Warm the oil in the heated oven at 375.
  2. Lay the sausage in the pan.
  3. Stir your flour and salt together.
  4. add in the milk and water, then the eggs. Beat till fluffy.
  5. Pour the yorkshire mixture over the sausages.
  6. Bake in the oven till puffy and golden brown, about 15-20 minutes.
Leave a Reply

