My Sweet Marie

Everything But the Sink Soup

Posted on: October 27, 2012

Today is the perfect day for making soup! It’s too wet to go out and do yard work, and cold enough for a good hot bowl of soup! I have a bit of this and a bit of that so it’s all going in the crock pot and it’s being called SOUP! Here’s what I did!

Ingredients:

  • 4-8 cups broth
  • 1 large onion diced
  • 2-3 ribs celery diced
  • 2-4 carrots peeled and sliced
  • 2 cup frozen veg ( I had peas,cauliflower and corn)
  • 1 small rutabaga or turnip peeled and cubed
  • 1 lb leftover chicken
  • 1 can of cut green beans
  •  28 oz can tomatoes
  • 1 can beans (kidney, white,navy etc)
  • 4-6 cups water
  • salt, pepper and thyme

Directions:

  1. Place all of the above ingredients or any ingredients you like, in the crock pot. Set it to high. It will take 5-6 hours.
  2. Season as you prefer, I go easy on the salt but you season it to your tastes. Fresh herbs are great but not in the fridge today!!
  3. Use any veggies you like, I like cabbage, broccoli, green beans as well but didn’t have them in the house. Use what you like and in quantities you like.
  4. I take soup for lunch most days, so I like a meaty,chunky bowl of soup. If you like it lighter, add more juice like broth,water or tomato juice, and less veg.
  5. Once the soup has been cooking for about 5 hours, you can think about adding a pasta,potato or rice. when you do so, stir it in and then shut off the pot. let sit for about 15 minutes and your soup is done!
  6. I ladle mine into glass bowls with lids, ready to be grabbed first thing in the morning on my way out the door! No sandwich making for me! Not having to think about making lunches is just easier for me!
  7. Soup is also a great dinner mid-week when you just don’t want to cook. Whip up a salad or not, pour a bowl of soup, hunk of bread and voila, dinner is served!
Leave a Reply

