My Sweet Marie

Beef Short Ribs

Posted on: September 10, 2012

I have been having a yen for short ribs for a while now and when I saw these short ribs at the market looking all yummy, I had to get them! I don’t find them to be of great value as the meat to bone ratio is rather slim pickings but they are so good! So I picked them up, brought them home and started to plan a meal around them! I decided on the slow cooker as I was feeling a bit on the lazy side and wanted to just relax all day and not worry about cooking! So I went with a sweet’sh kind of flavour to them. I started with some red wine, always a great start with beef, then a little sweet…here’s what I did:

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion chopped
  • 1/2 -3/4 cup red wine
  • 1/2 cup chilli sauce (I used Willie’s, salsa would work too but not as sweet)
  • 3 tbsp brown sugar
  • 3 tbsp vinegar
  • 1 tbsp of tamari gluten-free or soy sauce or worcestire
  • 1/2 tsp dry mustard powder
  • 1/2 tsp chilli powder or chipotle pepper
  • 1-2 lbs short ribs
  • 2-4 tbsp gluten-free flour

Directions:

  1. Dredge the ribs in  flour seasoned with salt and pepper.
  2. Brown the ribs in a saute pan, just till browned.
  3. In your slow cooker, add all the above ingredients while your ribs are simmering, except the flour! Stir.
  4. Once the ribs are cooked, add them to the slow cooker and turn it to low. cook for 6-8 hours.
  5. When the ribs are ready, take them out, turn the cooker to high and thicken your sauce with corn starch or a flour roux.  You know to not ever put a dry flour or corn starch directly into the sauce right? Always mix with either water, broth or melted butter first then stir it into your gravy/sauce to thicken!!
  6. These ribs are delicious served up with rice or egg noodles or…
  7. I decided about two hours into this process that I felt like stew so I added carrots, potatoes,peas and cauliflower and it was delicious! Either on their own or as the stew…it’s a yummy, easy dish to cook up!
Leave a Reply

