My Sweet Marie

Texting And Driving!

Posted on: July 4, 2012

Last night my brother in-law had the scare of a lifetime! He was at a stop sign and a woman who was texting and driving, bashed right into his vehicle! She was driving a huge pick-up truck and he was in the van! She hit him so hard that she went right into the back of the van! Glass was everywhere! Really woman?

Lucky for Ken, he was driving the van last night and not the smaller car they have! Had he been in the small car, I’m not sure he’d be here to tell us all about it! People, how many times do we need to hear these stories? Here in Ontario, it is illegal to drive and talk or text, and yet how many times a day do we see someone doing it?

Ironically, the woman was two minutes from home, texting with her husband. Do I really need to go on a rant about communicating face to face? What was so important that it couldn’t wait two minutes? Wonder if she texted him to say …oops nearly killed this really nice man?

I don’t know about her husband, but my husband would shoot me if he thought I was texting while driving! It is not safe, and I’m not sure how many times it needs to be said. This woman is lucky that she won’t have any deaths on her conscience but she will have fines to pay, higher insurance rates and a wrecked pick up to deal with!

My sister Marg and  niece Jodie, and my nephew Craig would have been devastated if anything had happened to their husband or Dad. He’s a wonderful father and I am very grateful he’s ok, as they are I am sure!

Life goes on but it gives you pause to think that life could have changed in an instant for so many, have you said everything that needs to be said to your loved ones? Have you done everything that you have on your bucket list? If not, why not?

Whatever you do today, DO NOT TEXT AND DRIVE!

Warmest regards,

Sweet Marie

3 Responses to "Texting And Driving!"

This is my personal pet hate. Its against the law in western Australia but people still do it. I get so angry I find myself taking on all this stress. People need to get with it! BE SAFE OR DONT DRIVE AT ALL!

Right on!! I’ll be in Austalia in January…will watch out for those texters!!

Reblogged this on Yummy Mummmy Workout and commented:
I think this is a very valid point!

Leave a Reply

