My Sweet Marie

At Home Spa

Posted on: February 26, 2012

Yesterday morning I was chatting with Heather, a good neighbor and even better friend, and together, we declared it National Pyjama Day! We both agreed that it was a wet, cold and miserable day so we both planned to stay in jammies, read our books and just relax! Heather said she was going to make a homemade face mask and I said uh…that sounds cool.

Not long later, Gary, her husband, knocked on the door and handed me a container with this green goop in it. I asked what it was. He said it’s your face mask, have fun! So I did! I washed my face and put this green goop all over my face and then went to read my book.

It didn’t take long before it was tightening up and drying! I had a look in the mirror and thought whoa baby, that is not pretty! I had chunks of avocado on my face and I suddenly had an urge for corn chips and salsa!

While I was waiting for it to dry I went in search for more recipes like this. I will post a few along with this recipe!

Not long later, I rinsed it all off and my face felt great! so soft and clean. You must try this! Here’s the recipe:

 

Homemade Face Mask

  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1 tsp yogurt (thicker is better)
  • 1/2 avocado

Mash the avocado well, add in the yogurt and honey. rub all over your face and sit and relax while it dries. rinse well when face has tightened up!

You can do the face mask and have a nice bath while it dries. Try this recipe below and have a real spa day for yourself. Call a few friends and have a girlfriend day using these recipes!

BATH COOKIES

2 cups finely ground sea salt
1/2 cup baking soda
1/2 cup cornstarch
2 tablespoons light oil
1 teaspoons vitamin E oil
2 eggs
5-6 drops essential oil of your choice

Preheat your oven to 350 F. Combine all the listed ingredients and form into a dough. Using a teaspoon or so of dough at a time, roll it gently in the palm of your hand until it forms a ball. Form all dough into one teaspoon balls, and gently place them on an ungreased cookie sheet. Consider sprinkling the bath balls with herbs, flower petals, cloves, citrus zest and similar aromatic ingredients. Bake your bath cookies for ten minutes, until they are lightly browned. Do not over bake. Allow the bath cookies to cool completely. To use, Drop 1 or 2 cookies into a warm bath and allow to dissolve. Yield: 24 cookies, enough for 12 baths.

Thanks Heather, here’s to your Peace!

Sweet Marie

2 Responses to "At Home Spa"

once a week there should be a day where we hang out in our PJ’S

It’s called Sunday at my house!

Leave a Reply

