My Sweet Marie

Oh No, Not Again!

Posted on: January 11, 2012

Yesterday I had a deja-vu that I’d rather not have. Our daughter Melanie called and said she thought something was wrong, she thought she’d better see a doctor.  She thought she was having bladder issues, well she thought maybe she had wet herself! That got me to thinking of 2 years ago when Melissa had called me with the exact same concern and I thought “Oh no, not again”! I told her I was on my way, get ready.

Now I have to say that we are very blessed here in London,On where we have the very best of care for babies and their Mommies. We have a state of the art unit that is freshly built and ready to serve. When we arrived the nurses were amazing, they helped Melanie out immediately, took her right in, and got her to a room without delay. It wasn’t long before a resident was checking her over and confirmed Mel’s dreaded concern. She had broken her membrane and would have to stay.

Now if this were her first pregnancy, I’m sure a stay in the hospital would seem a bit like a holiday, no cooking, cleaning etc but when you have a two-year-old at home, different story. Holly and Mel are joined at the hip, they don’t get too far apart for too long! The good news is that Holly can visit as much as she’d like. When we went through this with Melissa, there was the H1N1 scare and children were not allowed in hospital! That was not fun for Melissa.

So, we got Mel settled in and Holly and I were on our way. We had to go and get Mel’s things and Holly needed a nap! When we were pulling away from the parking lot, Holly started to cry out for Mommy, “we forgot Mommy, wait Meme”! Oh dear, she cried herself to sleep while I drove with tears running down my cheeks! Not cool! When she woke, still she cried, and walked around the house saying “I lost my Mommy…I need my Mommy…I lost my Mommy” It broke my heart, I tell you.

In the meantime, Jim had driven in from Burlington and got to the hospital to be with Mel. He came to the house to pick up Holly to go for a visit with Mommy and a blessed reunion it was. It was just a bit easier for Holly to leave Mommy this time, knowing she could visit her again.

Today Holly is feeling a bit better and has realized that she will see her Mommy again at the hospital. I don’t know how long it will be before Melanie comes home but it won’t be until she’s had the baby. Until then, we will do what we have to do to make sure she is safe and comfortable and that Holly has what she needs.

If you’re reading this and wondering what can I do to help? Please consider prayers for the safe arrival of our grand-child, Melanie’s comfort and Holly’s peace. I’m sure Jim could use a prayer or two as well!

Sincerest regards,

Sweet Marie

2 Responses to "Oh No, Not Again!"

what a sad story you guys are all in our prayers. Melanie is in great hands at least. We will keep her in our thoughts and prayers.

Thank you Wanda. Yes, it makes me sad to think of my little Holly crying, however I think she’ll be better as the days go by. She’s a tough cookie that one!

Leave a Reply

