My Sweet Marie

Bread Machine Gluten-Free Bread

Posted on: January 2, 2012

I told you recently that I have gone gluten-free. It has made a big difference in my life and I feel great! I do miss the bread though and when it’s $7-8 a loaf, I thought I’d give baking a homemade loaf a try! I found a recipe on www.allrecipes.com and played just a bit with it! Feel free to try new things by adding garlic, herbs or go crazy and do a cinnamon and raisin loaf! Here’s what I did, please do let me know if you have success with other ingredients!

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  •  1 tablespoon cider vinegar
  •  1/4 cup olive oil
  •  1/4 cup honey or agave
  • 1 1/2 cups buttermilk, at room temperature ( I used soya)
  •  1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon xanthan gum
  • 1/3 cup cornstarch
  •  1/2 cup potato starch
  •  2 1/2 cups of multi-purpose g.f. flour blend
  • 1 tablespoon active dry yeast

Directions:

  1. Place all ingredients in the well-greased bread machine pan in order as listed above.
  2. Select the sweet dough cycle and dark for colour.
  3. When bread is finished, let cool for 15 minutes before removing from pan. It will smell divine so maybe go out for a walk when it’s done then come home and take it out!!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

