My Sweet Marie

Curried Poochie Eggs

Posted on: December 29, 2011

Before I give you the recipe for our Poochie eggs, I must tell you the story behind them. When our daughter Melissa was a wee girl we would take her grocery shopping with us where we lived in Toronto. Being on a very tight budget we’d treat her with these story books that she loved, and were very inexpensive! These books were about a pink-haired poodle called Poochie. Melissa would behave herself beyond belief to get one of these books. She absolutely loved these stories. We would read the stories at bedtime and she would always ask for more!

Anyhow, one day I had made poached eggs with a curry sauce and she looked at them suspiciously, and I told her they were poached eggs, go on try them..and she said Poochie eggs? Being wise beyond my education, I grabbed the opportunity like any mother would, and said “why yes, they’re Poochie eggs just like the story books!” Well she gobbled up those eggs like I had served her Kd and franks!

So, from there on poached eggs were poochie eggs and they had to be served with poochie sauce! Oh what did I start? Even Melanie who never even saw a Poochie book that I can remember loves them! So every Christmas, Easter or any other brunch I serve for my family, there are always Poochie eggs! Holly and Heidi are not sold, I must find some Poochie story books! Blake eats them like he eats anything else, with a ravishing appetite and there won’t be food for days to come!

So here is the recipe for Curried Poochie Eggs, I hope they meet your expectations!

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1-2 tbsp curry powder
  • 1 cup milk or cream (I use soy milk)
  • 2 tsp corn starch + 4 tsp water  (mixed and used to thicken sauce)
  • 6-8 poached eggs
  • 3-4 toasted english muffins (6-8 halves)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Sautee the butter. Add in the curry till all blended well.
  2. Stir in the milk or cream, bring to a light boil.
  3. Thicken with the corn starch and water or you may use a roux if gluten is not an issue for your guests!
  4. Bring to a low boil.
  5. Serve the poached eggs on a toasted english muffin half and topped with the curry sauce.
  6. A slice or three of peameal bacon is lovely under the poached egg as well or on the side!
  7. Enjoy!
4 Responses to "Curried Poochie Eggs"

you can’t make brunch without poochie eggs! i wonder if those books are still around….heidi would probably love them, like all other books!

I looked online to try and get some and could not find any! We will have to look for them!

Having tried these eggs, cooked for me by Anne-Marie I can vouch for the fact that they are fabulous! Thanks Anne-Marie. I’m looking forward to trying some more of the recipes – that is unless you’d like to come here and cook them:)

I’d love to coem them and cook for you…but maybe we’ll hold off for a little while…I need to rest!!!

Leave a Reply

