My Sweet Marie

Are You Ready to be a Meme? (Grand-Mother)

Posted on: November 14, 2011

Are you ready to be a grand-mother? Somebody asked me that when we first heard our first grand-child was on its way, my answer…I was born ready! I always wanted to be a grand-mother and love every second of it! Luckily I have a husband that also loves being a Pepe and we try to spend a lot of time with our ‘kiddies’. It’s a hoot.

I have a friend that recently became a grand-Mother or a Mima, and have another friend that is about to become one. So here’s a list of things you need to be ‘prepared’ when those young ones come over! You’ve been warned!

  1. Snacks- Kids want snacks when they visit you, special things like animal crackers, fish crackers, freezies, granola bars,raisins, grapes and any other finger food! I keep all of these in the house at all times, even gluten free ones for Holly. The kids know where they are kept and when they walk in, usually they go right for the drawer!
  2.  Toys- Have a bucket of toys at the ready. They won’t be as fancy as what they have at home but trust me, they’ll play with them and you may want to join in. It is amazing what kids say while playing! visit Value Village for some great deals!
  3. Books- I had some of the old books from when the girls were kids and they are popular but I have a few that were given to me. Two faves are the Toni and the Tomato Soup book and Chicka Chicka Boom Boom!Nothing like a cuddle and a story!
  4. TV- Disney Movies recorded or their favourite tv show pvr’d. You never know when they’ll need to just sit and chill in front of the tube..be prepared!Sesame Street, Curious George, Dora and Thomas the Train are big here!
  5. Bath toys- I have only a couple but they are popular and it makes bath time much simpler! If they’re sleeping over, they get a bath…they get to play but I find it calms them and readies them for bed!! (Always a motive to my madness)
  6. Juice boxes- don’t know what the big deal is but they love them. Buy 100% juice, less sugar and better for them.
  7. I also have a portable crib, baby monitor, high chair and a exersaucer but that might be just a tad over the top! They do come in handy tho!

There, that’s my list, I hope it helps you all and now you’ll be prepared! Don’t let it be said that I didn’t warn you! Your list may look very different and that’s quite alright, I hope this gives you a guideline!

Sweetest regards,

Sweet Marie

Leave a Reply

