My Sweet Marie

Meme and Holly Play…

Posted on: October 30, 2011

Holly arrived right at lunch time yesterday for a day and night of fun while Mel and Jim headed off for a Hallowe’en party! They had to go to Toronto for the party, hence the early arrival! I know, likely story but you don’t hear me complaining, do you?

First order of business was lunch, we were on our own because Pepe was putting in some overtime! So pasta it is! Holly loves her noodles, much like her Mommy! She had a good fill and Melanie did tell me she was tired. So, lunch finished, we tidied her up and off to bed she went! She had a decent nap while I sat and relaxed with a book, not a bad gig if you can get it!

Second order of business for the day…Healthy Creations Bakery! When Holly woke up, I told her we were going for a ride to the bakery and she kissed me! I kid you not, she jumped up and kissed me! She absolutely loves this bread and since she’s on a gluten-free diet, it’s a huge treat to have tasty bread!

So off we go, she was chattering all the way there in the car, and the second she walks in the store, she clams up! Of course she does! I couldn’t get her to say boo! They sampled her on cookies and bread, all GF but still all they got was a very meek …thank you. So, off we go with our purchases, they treated her with a little pack of candies, but the second she got in the car, she hands me the candy and says bread Meme, bread please! She chose bread, dry bread instead of candy! That’s how good it is! She ate the first slice before we hit the second light!

Back home, we baked some Gluten-free Bisquick peanut butter cookies! Oh my, are they good! One would never know they are GF! I think I’ll make a batch of these for Andre’s Xmas party so that there is a GF option for the kiddies! They definitely pass Holly’s tough standards!

Finally Pepe arrives home and I can get dinner on table! We made Holly’s faves, GF hot dogs and sweet potato fries! That’s an easy one and she loves them! She’s so tiny that I love to see her eat and eat she did! Perhaps the cookies for dessert was the motivation but still she ate!

After dinner we took her for a walk around the neighborhood, and about halfway through I look down and she’s half asleep! Denis asked me what I did to wear her out? Her worn out, you’re kidding right? How about me? That’s got to be worth a few calories burnt, don’t you think?

We managed to keep her awake long enough to get her home, have a bath and a snack, gotta have a snack at Meme’s, and then off to dreamland for her! I read her one story and she was almost asleep by the time I closed the door to the bedroom, gotta love that!

So that my dear friends is how I spent my day yesterday, and my morning today. I absolutely adore my grand-children and to get a whole day with one to myself is a joy and we lived it to the fullest! Of course I am plumb worn out today but I can rest anytime…well almost anytime!

Sweetest regards,

Sweet Marie

Leave a Reply

