My Sweet Marie

Beating High Blood Pressure….

Posted on: August 7, 2011

Hypertension is a serious issue that plagues my family. Although it causes no symptoms, HBP boosts the risks of leading killers such as heart attack and stroke, as well as aneurysms, cognitive decline, and kidney failure. Is it genetic or is it that we have a lot of the same traits or habits as the other people in our family? I was on medication for hypertension for 8 years and 3 years ago I sought help from my naturopath at the Forest City Naturopathic Clinic. After 6 weeks of their guidance and help, I was off the meds! Now I make this sound easy but it’s not. It did take work and some discipline, something I am not a big fan of!

  1. You have to get the word salt right out of your vocabulary! Do not put salt on the table any longer. I use low sodium broths when I use them and season food with fresh herbs and spices! Read labels for sodium, don’t even think of buying it if it’s more than 500mg per serving. You should not be having more than 1,500 mg a day for adults. By the way, 1/2 tsp of salt contains 1,200 mg of sodium!
  2. You always have to exercise religiously, this is a must. At least get out and walk!
  3. Losing weight helps too, even 10-20 lbs would make a huge difference in one’s blood pressure.
  4. Switch to decaf or drop coffee out of your routine all together. I switched to decaf tea and that worked for me.
  5. Meditate daily. Even 5 minutes when you wake up will make a huge difference.
  6. Eat a potassium rich diet (yams,bananas,avocados,kidney beans,tomatoes,orange juice,canteloupe, peas,seeds etc.) I have many sweet potato recipes under the side dish column in this blog.
  7. Indulge in dark chocolate with at least 70% cocoa ( I have found some that are dairy free!)
  8. Drink less alcohol
  9. Work less, stress less.
  10. Listen to music…in the background, it will relax you.

I hope these tips will help you. I truly understand how hard it is to do all these things but if I can do it, anybody can. I tend to not be very disciplined but in this case, I have to if I don’t want to be on meds. Once you form the habits of exercising, dropping the coffee, etc, you will just keep doing it! Good luck and as always, please seek a doctor’s advice before stopping any medication. I am not a doctor, just a woman who has persevered where health is concerned!

Sweetest regards,

Sweet Marie

2 Responses to "Beating High Blood Pressure…."

hey Marie, read your blog and good for you getting off the meds.As far as hbp running in the family I’ve just returned from my annual physical and blood work and bp is good but ldl up and potassium too high so most of the good fruits that I eat everyday is causing potassium to be up and the ldl thing well lets just say the fat police is watching.LOL thanks always for the info

You’re welcome Andre! Glad to hear your bp is good! you have a healthy diet and it shows!

Leave a Reply

