My Sweet Marie

Camp Sunshine

Posted on: June 9, 2011

Well, it looks like I’ll be doing Camp Sunshine again this year. I ran a camp from my home 2 years ago and it was a lot of fun! We do crafts everyday, twice most days, we take part in the Library program, we swim, we walk, we go to the parks for picnics and we even went on a road trip to a spray pad. That was fun.

I decided to do this again after hearing so many people tell me I should. I thought, Ok I’ve heard this message like 5 times in the last couple of weeks, time I listen! I have been looking for work for months now and haven’t been able to find what I want, so at least this I know and love!

So, send me your craft ideas, your pool game ideas and any other creative fun that’s worked for you. We had pet toads for a while last time and they lasted a few weeks and then we had a long weekend and they all died, someone took them home and they stayed in the sun a little too long! We had to have a funeral, it was so touching  to see the kids in the garden sharing their precious memories of their prized toads! They sang songs for the toads and even had a moment of silence, you know how hard that is for some kids right? I took photos to prove it to their parents!

We also had a wedding ceremony in the garden, that was fun for us but not for the boy, who happened to be the only boy we had that year! He didn’t find it funny at all! I had to break up that ceremony before the big guns came out! Oh the memories!

One little girl started camp using arm swimmies and by the end of the first week, she was jumping in the deep end with no preservers. She can swim like a fish and loves the water now! I love that these kids learned something and took it home with them! I’ll also be doing the diaries everyday again with them. It’s a scribbler that they write in everyday after lunch(our quiet time) and share whatever it is they want to share. Only myself and the child read them and whoever they want to share with. I read the most adorable things in these books, the funeral was prevalent for quite some time!

So I have two spots left and hope to have them filled by the weekend or soon into next week. If you know of a child in London that would like to attend a fun, casual, active, outdoorsy camp, give me a call…fast!

Sweetest regards,

Sweet Marie

Leave a Reply

