My Sweet Marie

Feliz Cinco De Mayo

Posted on: May 5, 2011

Today is Cinco De Mayo, or the 5th of May! In Mexico they celebrate the 5th of May every year, not unlike we’d celebrate Canada Day. On May 5, 1862, Mexican troops defeated an invading French army in the outskirts of Puebla, a city around 60 miles east of Mexico City. They still celebrate this 149 years later!

Even though I am a French Canadian, I think of myself as a misplaced Mexican. I love this country, the food, the people, the scenery, the environment, it’s all so beautiful and simple. I visit as often as possible and speak to as many locals as I can while there. We take part in their celebrations and activities.

Today in honour of their celebration, I created a dish that I will call Pollo Margarita! It’s a chicken dish with lime, tequilla and black beans and topped with cornmeal. I’ll post the recipe if you’d like to try it! also, I made margaritas and we toasted Cinco de Mayo at dinner with margaritas! I love a good reason for a celebration and today is as good as any other!

I’m sure the Mexicans hosted parades, fiestas and dinners with their loved ones. When we last visited Mexico in November, we were lucky enough to catch a parade and it was marvelous. The floats were very simple, even archaic to our standards but let me tell you, they were having fun and the smiles were genuine! Those people were not stressed that their float wasn’t perfect or wasn’t as good as the next guy’s, they just did their thing! The private schools paraded the kids in their uniforms, proud as can be! We were so glad to catch it and so disappointed that we didn’t have our camera with us! We literally were out for a stroll and stumbled upon the parade!

So, however you celebrate your Cinco De Mayo or whatever you’ll celebrate it, remember the people who you are sharing it with are important, not the float they ride up in!

Sweetest regards,

Sweet Marie

Leave a Reply

