My Sweet Marie

Tomato and Sausage Soup

Posted on: April 19, 2011

I made this soup today. A recipe in Canadian Living inspired me and I almost went word for word, except for a few changes!! I never follow recipes word for word!!

You will need:

  • 4 tbsp of veg oil (I used olive oil)
  • 1 onion diced
  • 2 carrots diced
  • 1 rib of celery diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 2-4 Italian sausages (I used turkey) remove the casings
  • 2 cans of diced tomatoes ( 1 can be crushed)
  • 1 can of navy beans
  • 1 chili pepper
  • 1 cup of chicken broth and 1 cup of water
  • 1/2 cup fresh oregano or 3 tbsp of dried
  • 1 tsp sugar
  1. In large dutch oven sautee veggies in oil. Add in the sausages, break them up with your wooden spoon.
  2. Once all translucent and brown, add in tomatoes, broth, water, oregano, sugar and chilli pepper. bring to a boil, simmer for 15-20 minutes.
  3. Add in beans and cook a while longer. Discard hot pepper.
  4. Serve with parmesan cheese and a big crusty bun or like me, with a nice big green salad!

Enjoy!

  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp of sugar
Leave a Reply

