My Sweet Marie

Has This Ever Happened To You?

Posted on: April 4, 2011

In the last week I was caught twice talking about someone behind their back, but I was saying nice things! Phew! For some reason, both times I was embarrassed! Let me tell you the who’s, when’s and whats!

The first incident happened at the gym FF, we had just had a really good work out with Julia leading the class and there was a new face in the class. A young woman at the back of the class who was working real hard and getting a real good sweat on! That’s a good thing to us! Anyhow, for her t-shirt she had a fleece vest on. I thought she must be very warm in that vest, I have so many t-shirts I could share with her! I thought her to be around my size.

So when I thought the dressing room was empty I asked Julia about the woman at the back of the class. Julia knows everyone! She said she’s a Mom of 4 kids and has been on a regimen to lose weight and I said “Wow good for her! Imagine having the energy to work out when you have 4 kids!”  I then told her that I would love to get these extra t-shirts of mine to her but don’t want to embarrass her, would she give them to her when the class is over? Sure she said, I am sure with 4 kids there isn’t any money left for her! Ain’t that the truth! Anyhow, the next thing I hear is…are you ladies talking about me? UGHHH my heart sank, the last thing I wanted to do was embarrass her! Gladly, she was gracious and said she’d gladly take any hand me downs and thanked me! Truthfully the girl is an inspiration to me, she works so hard, and today I worked that much harder as I figure if she can do it with 4 kids at home, so can I! Thanks Sarah!

The next time I stuck my size 7’s in my mouth was on Wednesday night. Anita and I, and our hubbies, were leaving the funeral home. Having just said good-bye to Agnes, the mom of other Ya-Ya Paulette, we headed out the door. As we were walking down the sidewalk, I said to Anita, doesn’t that Agnes just look great? And from behind me I hear ‘ Why thank you!” UGH again, caught again, luckily saying nice things!!

So go ahead and say all the nice things in the world you want, as long as you are good intended, there should be no reason to be embarrassed like I was!

Sweetest regards,

Sweet Marie

3 Responses to "Has This Ever Happened To You?"

Isn’t that the truth Anne-Marie. I appreciate the reminder. Not that I talk about people behind there back, but could definitely say things that could offend someone, even though that was not my intention.

never say anything about anyone that you wouldn’t say to their face is the motto to follow ,if there is no good to be said don’t say it.good for you noticing someone in need and stepping up that’s my sister.

Thanks Andre. Yes I didn’t say anything bad but I felt bad about ‘talking’ behind her back…just didn’t want to embarass her. You are right too…if there’s nothing good to say, don’t say it!

Leave a Reply

