My Sweet Marie

Garden of Hope

Posted on: March 9, 2011

Growing up in a large family, there was often discord. We were very often left unattended while my parents were running the restaurant. So, when kids fight they are mean. Names would be used like ‘fatso’ or dummy etc. I used the names like everyone else but I was the lucky one to get fatso. I grew up thinking I was fat. What is ironic is that when I look at my childhood photos, I find a little girl of average size, not even close to chubby. I was a very active girl and loved food but was not fat. Sadly, I grew up with body image issues which I work on still today.

When I first joined the gym 9 years ago, I met a woman named Karen. I would see her working out a lot but never really chatted much with her till months later. It was the day after my nephew’s funeral, she caught me crying on the elliptical machine. I didn’t even realize I was crying, but when she tapped me on the shoulder and asked me if I was OK, I said “Yes, why?”  You have tears running down your face…wow talk about enthralled in myself! I was just so sad at the loss of a young aspiring musician who happened to be my first nephew and who I loved very much. 

Over the years since then,  we have talked often, often of my thinking I was fat and diets and such. Karen would advise me of my importance in this world, of my place in this world having nothing to do with size. She would talk about our obsession of having a perfect body or looking a certain way, and have me understand in such a way that today I can honestly say I am happy with who I am and my body! I work hard at being healthy, eating and exercising like everybody should do. I no longer ask Denis “How do I look in these jeans?” It’s not that I don’t care about my looks, it’s that I no longer obsess over it.

My friend Karen works for Hope’s garden, and if you have body image issues or an eating disorder or know someone who does, you should check out : www.hopesgarden.org  . They are dedicated to helping people with eating disorders, and support for their family and friends as well. They are a safe and supportive environment, here in London On. They are a not-for-profit organization that are here to help you out! Please check out their website and pass it on to your friends or anyone you think could use some help.

I hope you have found this info helpful as I have found it!!

Sweetest regards,

Sweet Marie

49 and Feeling fine

2 Responses to "Garden of Hope"

🙂 nice piece, words to live by

very good piece sweetMarie,it takes confidence and really understanding yourself to write these words……thank you for sharing,love Colette/Michigan

Leave a Reply

